Page 6: of Maritime Reporter Magazine (October 2015)

Marine Design Annual

Read this page in Pdf, Flash or Html5 edition of October 2015 Maritime Reporter Magazine

EDITORIAL

MARITIME

REPORTER

AND

ENGINEERING NEWS

M A R I N E L I N K . C O M

HQ 118 E. 25th St., 2nd Floor

New York, NY 10010 USA

Tel +1 212 477 6700

Fax +1 212 254 6271 www.marinelink.com

FL Of? ce 215 NW 3rd St

Boynton Beach, FL 33435-4009

Tel +1 561 732 4368

Fax +1 561 732 6984 innovation

Publishers

John E. O’Malley

John C. O’Malley jomalley@marinelink.com by design

Associate Publisher/Editorial Director

Greg Trauthwein trauthwein@marinelink.com

Vice President, Sales

Rob Howard howard@marinelink.com

GREG TRAUTHWEIN, EDITOR & ASSOCIATE PUBLISHER

Web Editor

Eric Haun haun@marinelink.com

Web Contributor

Michelle Howard howard@marinelink.com

Editorial ’ll never forget the “Hinge Ship,” a vessel concept If someone would have told me 20 years ago that ships would

Joseph Fonseca - India

Claudio Paschoa - Brazil that was designed to transform from a traditional be designed to generate and ? oat on their own ? eld of bubbles,

Peter Pospiech - Germany deep draft hull to a ? at bottom inland waterways hull I would have thought it crazy. But with new an ever-tightening

Production courtesy of an innovative “hinge” found on the bottom emission regulation and the resultant detailed analysis of

Irina Tabakina tabakina@marinelink.com

Nicole Ventimiglia nicole@marinelink.com of the vessel. I do forget the exact edition on which designing hulls to cut through the water more ef? ciently, this

Corporate Staff it graced the cover of MR sister-publication Marine- is a reality.

I

Mark O’Malley, Public Relations

Esther Rothenberger, Accounting

News, but I will never forget the cavalcade of comments from Another idea many dub ‘crazy’ is the notion of Unmanned

Information Technology near and far essentially questioning my mental stability for Ships. While I think it safe to say it will be a long time in

Vladimir Bibik

Emin Tule giving the concept such prominent play. Lo and behold, the coming, as most everything seems to be in maritime, trust masses were indeed correct and there are not massive ? eets when I say that autonomy on the waterways will do nothing

Subscription

Kathleen Hickey k.hickey@marinelink.com of “Hinge Ships” sailing the globe today. However, that’s not but grow. Autonomous vehicle use is prominent in the air and

Sales really the point. on the land, but both the rigors and the unique operating con-

Lucia Annunziata annunziata@marinelink.com +1 212 477 6700

Having sat in this chair for now more than 20 years, report- ditions of vessels at sea make marine autonomous operations a

Terry Breese breese@marinelink.com +1 561 732 1185 ing on new marine designs, from the intuitive to the outland- bit more challenging. But autonomy on the world’s waterways

Frank Covella covella@marinelink.com +1 561 732 1659 ish, is easily one of my favorites. Innovation is the fuel that is starting to pick up steam, growing in tandem with Big Data

Mitch Engel engel@marinelink.com +1 561 732 0312 drives this maritime market forward, and innovation comes and the ability to push and pull information faster, cheaper

Mike Kozlowski kozlowski@marinelink.com +1 561 733 2477 from a variety of sources: the highest halls of academia to the and more reliably between ship and shore. Henrik Segercrantz

Dawn Trauthwein dtrauthwein@marinelink.com +1 631 472 2715 the corporate R&D centers to someone’s garage. Necessity is presents an update on Unmanned Vessels based on the ? nal-

Jean Vertucci vertucci@marinelink.com +1 212 477 6700 indeed the mother of invention, and in the case of maritime ized joint European Research Project MUNIN starting on page

International Sales (and most industries) new regulation is the driver of necessity. 34 of this edition.

Scandinavia

Roland Persson roland@orn.nu

Orn Marketing AB, Box 184 , S-271 24

Ystad, Sweden t: +46 411-184 00 f: +46 411 105 31

Western Europe

Uwe Riemeyer riemeyer@intermediapartners.de t: +49 202 27169 0 f: +49 202 27169 20

United Kingdom

Paul Barrett ieaco@aol.com

Hallmark House, 25 Downham Road, Ramsden

Health, Essex CM11 1PU UK t: +44 1268 711560 m: +44 7778 357722 f: +44 1268 711567

Japan

Katsuhiro Ishii amskatsu@dream.com

Ace Media Service Inc., 12-6, 4-chome, Nishiike, trauthwein@marinelink.com

Adachi-ku, Tokyo 121, Japan t: +81 3 5691 3335 f: +81 3 5691 3336

Korea

Jo, Young Sang biscom@biscom.co.kr

Business Communications Inc., Rm 1232,

Gwanghwamoon Of? cia Bldg., 163, 1-Ga, Shinmoon-Ro, Jongro-Gu,

Seoul, Korea 110-999 t: +82 2 739 7840 f: +82 2 732 3662

Classi? ed Sales t: (212) 477-6700

Check out our other websites:

MarineLink.com MaritimeJobs.com MarineElectronics.com

Founder:

MaritimeProfessional.com MarineTechnologyNews.com YachtingJournal.com

John J. O’Malley 1905 - 1980

Charles P. O’Malley 1928 - 2000

MaritimePropulsion.com MaritimeEquipment.com MaritimeToday.com

Download our App iPhone & Android 6 Maritime Reporter & Engineering News • OCTOBER 2015

MR #10 (1-9).indd 6 10/6/2015 10:25:06 AM

Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.